Changes among the Apostles (2/2021)

Did you know that District Apostles are also authorised to ordain Apostles? This has always been the case, but in the year 2021 many District Apostles had to actually make use of this authority because the Chief Apostle was prevented from travelling as a result of the pandemic.

As of 31 December 2021, there were approximately 247,000 ministers active in diaconal or priestly ministries in the New Apostolic Church. They care for some 58,000 congregations around the world. At present, the Church is led by one Chief Apostle, fifteen District Apostles, eight District Apostle Helpers, and 314 Apostles.


On 18 July 2021 in Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo, District Apostle Michael Deppner ordained six Apostles by commission of the Chief Apostle all in the same divine service, namely: the former District Elder Kpama Gianny Bangawe (1973), Bishop Kanku Roger Buabua (1964), Shepherd Elie Tatien Mukinba Mudinganyi (1976), District Elder Seni Guy Bariza (1970), District Elder Emmanuel Ngolo Woto (1968) and Bishop Oscar Ponza Etedika (1982).

On his first trip outside Europe since March 2020, Chief Apostle Jean-Luc Schneider made a visit to Dodoma, Tanzania. In a divine service there on 15 August, he ordained District Elders Daniel Ooko Ochogo (1968) and Cosmas Barasa Wanjala (1973) to serve as Apostles for Kenya.

In a divine service he conducted in the Accra Central church in Ghana on 22 August, District Apostle Michael Ehrich ordained the hitherto District Evangelist Augustus Adika Lavoe (1965) an Apostle by commission of the Chief Apostle.

Chief Apostle Jean-Luc Schneider conducted an open-air service in Kabwe, Zambia, on 26 September. There he ordained District Elder Alex Mvula Thosi Kachikhawu (1971) to serve as an Apostle for Malawi, along with District Elder Lubinda Maliwa Maliwa (1987) and District Evangelist Imunga Malkana (1970) as Apostles for Zambia.

By commission of the Chief Apostle, District Apostle Michael Ehrich ordained District Elder Nema Jacques Conde (1968) and District Evangelist Tamba Sosso Wolle Millimouno (1966) as Apostles for the country of Guinea in a divine service in the Freetown Central church in Sierra Leone on Sunday, 31 October.

In a divine service on 14 November in Berlin-Charlottenburg, Germany, Chief Apostle Jean-Luc Schneider expanded the mandate of the District Apostle Helper Helge Mutschler (1974) to include the District Apostle area of Berlin-Brandenburg. The latter’s previous Apostle district was transferred to the care of the hitherto Evangelist Ralf Vicariesmann (1971), who was ordained an Apostle for this purpose by Chief Apostle Schneider.

In a divine service he conducted in Dinwiddie, South Africa, on 28 November, Chief Apostle Jean-Luc Schneider ordained Bishops Artur Sobeso Alfazema (1966) and Davide Judas Zaqueio (1967) as Apostles for Mozambique. For South Africa, the Chief Apostle ordained the hitherto District Elder Bradley Ivan Bourne (1972), Bishop Jan Enoch Mabaso (1962), and Bishop Werner Newton von Schaeffer (1967) as Apostles.

Some retirements, a leave of absence, and a resignation

  • Apostle Patricio Jorge (1956) on 4 July in Milange (Mozambique)
  • Apostles Louis Kabangu (1955), Macaire Mayele (1960), Ferdinand Mbande (1955), Gaston Mukoko (1955), Ndaye Mtumba (1956), and Michel Tati (1956) on 18 July in a divine service in Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Apostle Klaus Katens (1955) on 1 August 2021 in a divine service in Berlin-Lichtenberg, Germany
  • Apostle Edward Hayford Nzimah (1955) on 22 August in a divine service in Accra Central, Ghana
  • Apostle Massamba Diambu Tuku (1955) on 15 September in Santana, São Tomé
  • Apostle Julio César Ypez Moratinos (1955) on 20 September in Panama City, Panama
  • Apostles Martial Bangoura (1955) and Jules Beavogui (1955) on 31 October in Sierra Leone
  • Apostles Harold Brian Swartbooi (1956) and Marc Diedricks (1960) on 28 November in a divine service in Dinwiddie, South Africa
  • Apostle Earl Buehner (1954) on 12 December in Los Angeles,USA

In November, the Chief Apostle granted a six-month leave of absence to Apostle Siegfred Alos Catan (1960) of the Philippines, as he has been suffering from a very debilitating illness.

Chief Apostle Schneider accepted the resignation of Apostle Baker Chakwana (1975) from Zambia, who had already been on a leave of absence for personal reasons for a year.


Apostle Moïse Mabaya (1956) from the Democratic Republic of Congo passed away on 10 October after a brief stay in hospital.

Ten days later, Apostle Kennedy S. Kabome (1960) from Tanzania passed away after a brief illness.

District Apostle Areas

The New Apostolic Church is structured into fifteen District Apostle Areas. These are led by the following District Apostles:

  • Michael David Deppner (1961) – Democratic Republic of Congo-West
  • Michael Ehrich (1959) – Southern Germany
  • Joseph Opemba Ekhuya (1969) – East Africa
  • Edy Isnugroho (1963) – South-East Asia
  • Leonard Richard Kolb (1956) – USA
  • Rüdiger Krause (1960) – Northern and Eastern Germany
  • John Leslie Kriel (1956) – Southern Africa
  • Enrique Eduardo Minio (1960) – South America
  • Wolfgang Nadolny (1956) – Berlin-Brandenburg
  • Peter Schulte (1963) – Western Pacific
  • Kububa Soko (1969) – Zambia, Malawi, Zimbabwe
  • Rainer Storck (1958) – Western Germany
  • Tshitshi Tshisekedi (1972) – Democratic Republic of Congo South-East
  • Mark Woll (1959) – Canada
  • Jürg Zbinden (1958) – Switzerland

Some of the District Apostles are supported by District Apostle Helpers who as a rule work in specific countries:

  • David Devaraj (1959) – India
  • Frank Stephan Dzur (1959) – Canada
  • John William Fendt (1957) – USA
  • Arnold Ndakondwa Mhango (1957) – Malawi
  • João Uanuque Misselo (1965) – Angola
  • Mandla Patrick Mkhwanazi (1963) – Southern Africa
  • Helge Mutschler (1974) – Northern and Eastern Germany
  • Robert Nsamba (1962) – Zambia