Changes among the Apostles (1/2024)

Ordinations, retirements, and one appointment: these were the ministerial acts that Chief Apostle Jean-Luc Schneider performed in the circle of the Apostles over the past half-year. In some cases, his District Apostles also supported him in enacting these staffing changes to the apostolate.

A total of 241.000 ministers in the Deacon and Priest ministries provide care to 9 million members in 55.000 congregations. At present, there are also 334 ministers who serve as Apostles, seven who serve as District Apostle Helpers, fourteen who are active as District Apostles, and one who functions as Chief Apostle.

One comes and two go—changes on the leadership level

There were some changes in the leadership level of the international Church: District Apostle Rainer Storck (1958), who previously led the Regional Church of Western Germany, was retired by Chief Apostle Jean-Luc Schneider on 23 June in Rheinberg, Germany. The leadership of the latter’s working area has now been assumed by District Apostle Helper Stefan Pöschel (1968), who was appointed a District Apostle in the same divine service.

In addition, District Apostle Helper Arnold Mhango (1957), who supported District Apostle Kububa Soko in Malawi, was retired in a divine service on 30 June in Mzuzu, Malawi.


Chief Apostle Jean-Luc Schneider ordained the hitherto Bishop Reinier van Markus (1974) an Apostle in a divine service in Hoorn, Netherlands on 14 January.

It was also by the Chief Apostle that Bishop Martin Tuesta Castro (1978) was ordained an Apostle in Lima, Peru on 4 February.

By commission of the Chief Apostle, District Apostle Michael Ehrich ordained Priest Salvador Mitogo Obiang (1960) an Apostle in a divine service on 4 February in Bata, Equatorial Guinea.

In a divine service on 25 February, District Elder Helmut Hermann Kasper (1967) was ordained to the Apostle ministry by the Chief Apostle in Hildesheim, Germany.

The Chief Apostle ordained the hitherto District Elder Kenneth Korokai (1973) an Apostle on 9 June in a divine service in Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea.


Chief Apostle Schneider retired Apostle Peter Klene (1957) in a divine service in Hoorn, Netherlands on 14 January.

By commission of the Chief Apostle, District Apostle Edy Isnugroho granted Apostle Siegfried Alos Catan (1960) an early retirement for health reasons on 28 January 2024 in Dumaguete, Philippines.

It was also by commission of the Chief Apostle that District Apostle Michael Ehrich retired Apostle Esono Aló Gonzalo (1956) in Bata, Equatorial Guinea on 4 February.

Apostle Allan Papi Pouru (1959) was retired on 9 June in Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea.

By commission of the Chief Apostle, Apostle Richard Kavuma (1962) was retired for health reasons by District Apostle Joseph Opemba Ekhuya on 16 June in Kampala, Uganda.

District Apostle areas

The New Apostolic Church is comprised of fourteen District Apostle areas, which are led by District Apostles. Currently these are as follows:

  • Michael David Deppner (1961) – Democratic Republic of Congo West
  • Michael Ehrich (1959) – Southern Germany
  • Joseph Opemba Ekhuya (1969) – Eastern Africa
  • Edy Isnugroho (1963) – South East Asia
  • Rüdiger Krause (1960) – Northern and Eastern Germany
  • Peter Bernhard Lambert (1964) – Southern Africa
  • Enrique Eduardo Minio (1960) – South America
  • Stefan Pöschel (1968) – Western Germany
  • John Schnabel (1964) – USA
  • Peter Schulte (1963) – Western Pacific
  • Kububa Soko (1969) – Zambia, Malawi, Zimbabwe
  • Tshitshi Tshisekedi (1972) – Democratic Republic of Congo Southeast
  • Mark Woll (1959) – Canada
  • Jürg Zbinden (1958) – Switzerland

The District Apostles are supported by District Apostle Helpers, some of whom are responsible for specific countries. The following Apostles serve as District Apostle Helpers:

  • Thomas Deubel (1964) – Switzerland
  • David Devaraj (1959) – India
  • Frank Stephan Dzur (1959) – Canada
  • João Uanuque Misselo (1965) – Angola
  • Mandla Patrick Mkhwanazi (1963) – Southern Africa
  • Helge Mutschler (1974) – Northern and Eastern Germany
  • Robert Nsamba (1962) – Zambia